Home Living Fujifilm X-A2 Camera A Blogger’s Dream + Giveaway

Fujifilm X-A2 Camera A Blogger’s Dream + Giveaway

by Jodi Shaw

For a blogger having a good camera is about as important as having a laptop or computer by your side. Blogging without images to describe things is as dull as toast.

I have always been a huge fan of photography, especially cameras from Fujifilm when they brought out the Instax 8 bringing me back to my Polaroid days. But my newest love now is Fujifilm X-A2 Mirrorless Camera with some infinite features that will surprise you.

Lover of DSLR cameras, I wanted to check out what this mirrorless camera could do in terms of quality photographs, low lighting, ISO levels and more.

So when Fujifilm North America invited me to review the X-A2 to see how it can improve my blogging experience, I was completely thrilled.

I’ve used the camera just a little over a week and a half now and can’t even begin to tell you all the amazing features which I feel would benefit you if you are looking for a new camera.

But I’m going to try.

LET’S TALK ABOUT STYLE & FEEL

The Fuji X-A2 feels great in my hands. It’s smaller than my DSLR camera, more lightweight and it even fits in my purse. Much better than some other entry-level cameras I’ve tried out. It only weighs in a 13.8 ounces and is a convenient size for anyone traveling or on the go. 

The X-A2 comes in a variety of colors. My favorite being the one I was sent a brown leatherette covering that reminds me of the old vintage retro style cameras, it also has that look and feel.

It also comes in black or white. A 16-50mm lens which is typical for an entry-level camera, lens hood which I was really happy about getting and a neck strap. It has a pop-up flash which is super easy to use and a place for an external flash which you can buy separately.  

I have really tiny hands, so the X-A2 feels great in my fingers. My hubby has big hands and he also found it comfortable to hold, point and shoot without issue.

There is a 3″ LCD high-resolution screen that tilts 175 degrees rotation. I was so stoked for this. It’s perfect for taking selfies or shooting videos on the go, and with face and eye detection and red-eye removal that works amazing, the screen actually focuses on one of your eyes to make sure you get a clear shot each and every time. 

Here is a selfie I snapped of myself at 8 am in the morning. My post on FB read: My son says I have angry hair, but I think my hair is talented to look this good!

The image is clear, the colors vibrant. Take a peek at my pillow behind me how blue it is. I was very satisfied using SR+ mode simply shooting for selfies quick and easy. I love you can see yourself on the screen. Most cameras don’t do this.

I will be honest with you, in the beginning, I missed having a viewfinder, but shortly after getting used to shooting, it was no big deal. The LCD screen on the X-A2 rotates and is quite easy to use.

You can shoot from different angles by simply tilting it to the position you want. However, it can be a bit hard to see when using outside in bright daylight which is where a viewfinder would be handy. Still, it doesn’t make or break the style and simplicity of this camera.

Photo of my soon to be sister-in-law and my new nephew. I love how the focus is on them with his cake blurred out. You can see the love between mother and son.

GREAT SHOTS ANYTIME NOVICE OR EXPERT

When it comes to using a camera out of the box, the Fuji X-A2 is perfect. It has an auto setting that is incredible, no need to touch anything. The camera detects the best resolution from over 50 different scene modes and snaps the perfect pic. Yet it has all the functions an expert user can use to manipulate or change to strengthen photo production to their liking. 

I took this shot using the Auto mode setting, I did nothing but clicked the shot straight out of the box. It was my first picture and it turned out amazing, color saturation is above par in my mind, and my fur-baby Oreo is looking at me like “Hey why are you taking my picture?” LOL. I’ve never gotten a better shot of him with any camera I’ve used. 

Another shot that is crisp and clean. Photo of my mother and nephew together. I love this photo how it’s not grainy at all. These are moments worth capturing. 

My brother and niece Addie
My mom and oldest son Jake.

FUJI X-A2 UP CLOSE AND PERSONAL

The most impressive thing I love about the Fuji X-A2 is how my food shots turn out. As a blogger, I often share recipes and having a camera with macro is something important to any photographer, especially when doing an up close and personal shot of food. You want the right lighting, the right background, the right colors to capture the best shot possible. The X-A2 doesn’t disappoint. The closer I got to my object (macro) kicks in and focuses where you want it to. Brilliant! 

Roast beef dinner we ate just a few days ago. I love how it focuses on the mash potatoes. You can even see the pepper sprinkles, so crisp and clear up close and personal. The images I took look amazing for my blog. It’s something no cell phone can capture. 

Photo of my holiday tree 

The camera has many unique features. Color pop is an interesting feature. You can set it to blue or red or yellow and it will turn items in the photograph that shade focusing on them.

I took this shot in low light, no blur background of my mini trees and holiday houses. Sometimes the LCD can be a bit deceiving when hiding shadows of yourself. So be careful, but this shot turned out crisp and clear. 

This is one of the coolest shots. It was taken using the Toy Camera advanced feature. I love how retro everything looks. It’s like I’m back in 1970. I think it’s really neat you can simply change a function to make the photo quality what you want it to be. 

I love this photo, the background is blurred out and macro kicked in showing Harley’s every beautiful feature. He really is a handsome little pup isn’t he?

This is my favorite picture of the bunch. I love this shot of my husband. I used normal lighting as we sat in Tim Horton’s. I love the way the photo turned out capturing his side profile and all the little details. If you look close enough you can see a person’s soul in a photo. Looking at it made me wonder what he was thinking.  

There are so many advanced features, functions, and options for you to choose from with the Fuji X-A2. It’s a powerhouse camera packed into a smaller package, easy to use out of the box.

With action modes, nighttime settings, color pop, black and white, sepia, high ISO and many more features. This beautiful camera is a bloggers dream. 

captured my ice in my cup. Crystal clear. 

WIRELESS TO MOBILE

The Fuji X-A2 makes it easy for you to share your photos by downloading the simple app for either IOS or Android. The FN button on the top allows you to send your photos to your phone to easily upload, tweet or share. I used the app to share this Instagram and Facebook and Pinterest.

If you are on Instagram, check out the hashtags #MyFujiFilm or #FujiMoms and follow along to see what all the amazing photographers both expert, and amateur are doing with this amazing camera.

The Fuji X-A2 is by far my favorite camera to date. I love how my pictures are turning out. Don’t forget to please follow FUJIFILM on  Twitter, Facebook .and Instagram to keep up on all things camera magic! 

What is your favorite thing to take pictures of? 


Disclosure: I am a #Fujimom Brand Ambassador and receive certain perks and products to review and provide my honest opinion on such products. All opinions are 100% my own. Thanks for reading! 

You may also like

127 comments

Stacy Scott December 11, 2015 - 5:23 pm

I really like the wireless transfer feature, Totally would Love one of theses =)

Lisa December 11, 2015 - 3:27 pm

I love the Intelligent Auto Focus feature. Blurry pictures no more!

Janine Ebel December 10, 2015 - 7:31 am

My favorite feature is the wireless transfer. It is so convenient.

melisa vallier December 10, 2015 - 7:11 am

Love the look of the camera. The auto focus and wireless transfer are some great features. So many features to explore.

Chandra O'Connor December 10, 2015 - 3:58 am

The fast multi-target autofocus feature is perfect for a beginner like me

crystal porter December 9, 2015 - 5:34 pm

Intelligent focus and tilting lcd screen

Cathy C December 9, 2015 - 5:09 pm

I like the multi-target auto focus and that it is light weight

stephen gordon December 9, 2015 - 2:35 pm

I love the Intelligent Auto Focus feature awesome.

Jen December 9, 2015 - 10:45 am

I really like the wireless transfer feature!

Eric Stroud December 9, 2015 - 3:40 am

I really like the 3 inch tilt screen!

Lisa Smith December 9, 2015 - 12:50 am

My favorite feature is the 175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus

Tina F December 8, 2015 - 11:13 pm

I so love the tilt screen. How convient this is

Doris Calvert December 8, 2015 - 10:42 pm

I really like the wireless transfer, so handy.

Jessica W. December 8, 2015 - 8:48 pm

The tilting LCD!

mrdisco December 8, 2015 - 7:44 pm

I like that it has a large 16.3 Megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor

Julie bolduc December 8, 2015 - 8:49 am

I really like the wireless transfer

Kathy Davis December 7, 2015 - 6:25 pm

This is terrific camera with lots of great features. My favorite is “The FUJIFILM X-A2 has the longest battery life in its class which is achieved thanks to the power-saving design”.

Robyn Bellefleur December 7, 2015 - 11:34 am

I love the tilt screen, so handy!

Cassie Fancy December 7, 2015 - 9:48 am

The tilting lcd screen seems really neat !

Leanne S December 6, 2015 - 11:34 pm

Two things – wireless capability and tilting screen – those two things make it very attractive

Yuen C December 6, 2015 - 10:45 pm

I like the tilting LCD screen!

Yan deng December 6, 2015 - 4:53 pm

Love the face recognition

Maryd December 6, 2015 - 4:50 pm

I like the wide angle end of that new lens. Good for selfies.

Sherry McGee December 6, 2015 - 6:26 am

I love the wireless transfer, my previous camera was so time consuming I gave up on it.

heather sibley December 5, 2015 - 7:16 pm

I love the Intelligent Auto Focus feature.

Amy C December 5, 2015 - 3:52 pm

My favourite feature is the Wide range of functions delivers simple operation and photographing versatility.

Cheryl December 5, 2015 - 11:59 am

I love the color pop feature

Heidi c. December 5, 2015 - 2:38 am

The wireless transfer feature is amazing!

Carole Dube December 4, 2015 - 9:24 pm

I like the Intelligent Auto Focus, but I love every thing about it!

Tooth Fairy December 4, 2015 - 6:59 pm

My fave part of camerea is the fast multi-target autofocus !

Suzanne G December 4, 2015 - 6:21 pm

My favourite feature is an LCD screen that flips up 175° making it easy to take high quality selfies.

Carol M December 4, 2015 - 4:04 pm

The wireless image transfer is so great and is my fave.

Matthew T December 4, 2015 - 5:57 am

I love the photo of Harley with the out of focus background. We have one DLSR but my son and wife have now taken an interest in using it as they see the difference it can make. It would be amazing to have 2 cameras so they can share one!

Matthew T December 4, 2015 - 5:55 am

I love the photo of Harley with the out of focus background. We have one DLSR but my son and wife have now taken an interest in using it as they see the difference it can make. It would be amazing to have 2 cameras so they can share one!

Amie December 3, 2015 - 10:53 pm

I love Fast multi-target autofocus ! That is a great feature ! But I really love all the lens , I have always wanted to try astro-photograpgy ! 😀

Jenny Major December 3, 2015 - 7:03 pm

The fast multi-target autofocus

Rebby December 3, 2015 - 5:26 pm

I LOVE that the Auto Macro lets you focus down to 15cm / 6″!

Juliee Fitze December 3, 2015 - 10:25 am

I like the wireless image transfer , no cable or cards to fight with.

Lee-Ann December 3, 2015 - 10:14 am

The fast multi-target autofocus feature is what I like most

Christian cross December 3, 2015 - 4:29 am

Would seriously love to win this amazing camera

cheryl hodgkins December 2, 2015 - 10:58 pm

I like the fact that it has a 175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus..alot better than my old camera..love to win this..fingers crossed

Patti Lebold December 2, 2015 - 8:45 pm

I like the fast multi-target autofocus feature

Karla Sceviour December 2, 2015 - 7:42 pm

I love the 175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus ,,not sure if my first comment went though

Karla Sceviour December 2, 2015 - 7:40 pm

My favorite feature is the 175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus,,but I really love it all!! My little old crappy camera is nothing compared to this!!

Wendy hutton December 2, 2015 - 7:04 pm

I love that it has a tilting LED screen

Kayla Gilbert December 2, 2015 - 6:45 pm

My favourite feature is that it is wireless to mobile. I’m so bad at uploading my pictures to my computer!

Debbie White Beattie December 2, 2015 - 6:43 pm

I like the Fast multi-target autofocus, this way I have no more blurred pictures and I don’t have to do the focusing myself. Perfect pictures every time, awesome!

Anna Given December 2, 2015 - 6:18 pm

I like the 175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus

caryn s December 2, 2015 - 5:39 pm

I love the multi-target autofocus of this camera!

Julie D December 2, 2015 - 1:59 pm

I love the wireless image transfer. That would be so handy!

Holly December 2, 2015 - 1:28 pm

Intelligent Auto Focus and that it’s wireless!

Jolie December 2, 2015 - 12:04 pm

By far, the wireless image transfer, so convenient.

debbiewbd@yahoo.ca December 2, 2015 - 1:46 am

The multi-target autofocus is great, no more blur or trying to do the focus myself

Debbie White Beattie December 2, 2015 - 6:47 pm

delete, please !

Kris L December 2, 2015 - 1:11 am

tilting screen is pretty cool

susanne December 1, 2015 - 11:11 pm

Hooray for wireless image transfer!

Tanis December 1, 2015 - 10:51 pm

I love the Fast multi-target autofocus – we have 2 kids that are quick!!

Brenda Lacourciere December 1, 2015 - 9:54 pm

I like the face recognition feature.

Kelly Baker December 1, 2015 - 7:54 pm

My fave feature is the auto focus!

Pam December 1, 2015 - 6:52 pm

my fave feature of this camera is the tilting lcd.

Cheryl December 1, 2015 - 5:32 pm

I love that you can do wireless image transfer 🙂

David December 1, 2015 - 3:24 pm

the 3″ screen and it tilts

ERIN MCSWEENEY December 1, 2015 - 3:22 pm

I LOVE THE Wide range of functions delivers simple operation and photographing versatility

Erin W December 1, 2015 - 3:21 pm

I love the intelligent focus and tilt screen!

Angela V December 1, 2015 - 12:52 pm

I love the new kit lenses !

Tyler Ennis December 1, 2015 - 12:45 pm

The colour pop feature is interesting! I could make personalised calenders with it!

Doris H December 1, 2015 - 12:36 pm

I like thev Tilting LCD screen feature.

Darlene Demell December 1, 2015 - 11:33 am

My favourite feature is Auto Macro lets you focus down to 15cm / 6″ I really like that.

Erika Letson December 1, 2015 - 10:45 am

My favourite feature is Auto Macro for quick focusing! Thanks for the giveaway!

angela marriott December 1, 2015 - 9:57 am

I love the tilting screen and the auto focus

Wendy Jensen December 1, 2015 - 9:26 am

My favorite feature is the Wireless to Mobile.

Greg December 1, 2015 - 2:54 am

5.6 fps continuous shooting

Angela Mitchell November 30, 2015 - 9:50 pm

I love that it has wireless image transfer. I’m hoping to get a new camera for Christmas and this is a must have feature for me now.

ginette November 30, 2015 - 8:17 pm

The feature that I like best is the 3″ screen and it tilts

Tainan Lu November 30, 2015 - 7:38 pm

WIRELESS TO MOBILE

Jenn November 30, 2015 - 7:23 pm

My favourite feature is the amazing auto macro function. I take a lot of pictures up close so details are important for me!

em November 30, 2015 - 7:19 pm

the Auto Macro function

Elaine G November 30, 2015 - 6:37 pm

I like the fast multi-target autofocus feature

missbobloblaw November 30, 2015 - 6:22 pm

I love that “the FUJIFILM X-A2 offers new kit lenses with an enhanced finish and improved macro and image stabilization functions”.

Judy Cowan November 30, 2015 - 6:22 pm

Love that you can do a wireless image transfer. Sounds like a great camera and I would love to win so fingers crossed!

Glogirl November 30, 2015 - 6:02 pm

My favourite feature of this camera is that it has a Self Timer button for regular use.

suzi November 30, 2015 - 5:23 pm

175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus

Sara Rai November 30, 2015 - 5:10 pm

I love the tilting screen:)

Maria November 30, 2015 - 4:26 pm

Love the zoom and all the wonderful features of colour

Krista M November 30, 2015 - 3:28 pm

My favorite feature is the wireless image transfer & the 3″ LCD Screen.

Natasha Severson November 30, 2015 - 1:43 pm

175° high resolution tilting LCD with face and eye detection for fast and fun pictures. is one of my favourite features! I love the fact that it will catch all my kidlets at their best moments not them having to wait on me!

Gillian Morgan November 30, 2015 - 1:18 pm

I like the 175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus feature.

Jeannie November 30, 2015 - 1:03 pm

My favourite feature might have to be the 3.0-inch Tilting LCD!

christina rogers November 30, 2015 - 12:59 pm

i like the swivel LED ldea !

J November 30, 2015 - 12:14 pm

I love the 175° Tilting LCD screen that lets people take photos of themselves without worrying if they positioned themselves or the camera correctly.

Jonnie November 30, 2015 - 12:03 pm

I like that it has Intelligent Auto Focus. i am so bad at taking pictures so that feature would be perfect for me!

andrea amy November 30, 2015 - 12:00 pm

my favourite feature are the advanced filters. I think my favourite is the dynamic tone.

Darlene Schuller November 30, 2015 - 11:57 am

I like that it’s ultra light and you can share your pics easily!

Jan November 30, 2015 - 11:14 am

I would love to try out the Classic Chrome feature

LILLIAN BROWN November 30, 2015 - 10:59 am

I like the Manual pop-up flash (Super Intelligent Flash)

Ann Kieswetter November 30, 2015 - 10:27 am

Fave feature would be the wireless image transfer of pics and videos on social media.

kristen visser November 30, 2015 - 10:14 am

I love that it is a selfie ready camera 🙂 gotta include pics of mommy too lol I love that it also has a fast multi-target auto focus

Bailey Dexter @samjustme November 30, 2015 - 9:51 am

I really like that is has an Fast multi-target autofocus makes sure you always capture your subject perfectly. Something I just don’t get the picture in time!

Nate Fuller November 30, 2015 - 9:25 am

I like the flip around screen for selfies!

Nelia c. November 30, 2015 - 9:12 am

I love the macro feature!

SUMMER PLEWES November 30, 2015 - 9:06 am

i lke the fast multi target focus feature

joy November 30, 2015 - 8:52 am

Classic Chrome, colour and image quality is very important and my favourite feature

Suzie M November 30, 2015 - 8:52 am

y favourite feature would have t be the Fast multi-target autofocus makes sure you always capture your subject perfectly

Alison Braidwood November 30, 2015 - 8:27 am

I like that it’s light (less likely to drop it), and has face and eye recognition.

Mark V November 30, 2015 - 8:23 am

I like the LCD screen that flips up 175 degrees

Helena November 30, 2015 - 8:15 am

I love the Advanced SR Auto mode. It simplifies everything a newbie person like me.

Stacey November 30, 2015 - 8:01 am

I like the fact the screen flips so that you can see when taking a shot yourself or making a video. Also the style of this camera seems semi retro which is amazing!

ivy pluchinsky November 30, 2015 - 7:38 am

the Toy Camera advanced feature is pretty cool.

Shannon S November 30, 2015 - 7:37 am

I loved the size and the selfie feature. I am looking for a camera for my daughter and this looks like this would be perfect for her.

Brenda Penton November 30, 2015 - 7:19 am

I love the Intelligent Auto Focus feature.

Sarah Jackson November 30, 2015 - 7:14 am

Love the wireless functions !

Melissa Bowers November 30, 2015 - 7:14 am

I like the wireless image transfer makes it easy to quickly share your photos and movies on social media.

Anne Taylor November 30, 2015 - 7:07 am

My favourite feature is the 175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus

Florence C November 30, 2015 - 5:55 am

I like the 175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus.

Kelly D November 30, 2015 - 5:38 am

Face and eye detection is pretty cool!

Shannon Mark November 30, 2015 - 5:32 am

i like the fast auto focus!

Jen Banks November 30, 2015 - 5:27 am

I have to say the Fast multi-target autofocus would be fantastic when trying to capture pictures of my boys playing soccer.

Tawnya November 30, 2015 - 5:17 am

A new camera with those cool features would be awesome.

Elizabeth R November 30, 2015 - 5:11 am

I like the Intelligent Auto Focus, I need all the help I can get!

Silvia D November 30, 2015 - 5:00 am

I like the Eye detection feature, it will Auto Focus automatically focusing on the eyes and the Portrait Enhancer mode makes skin look brighter and smoother.

Vesper Meikle November 30, 2015 - 4:43 am

I like that it can focus down to 15cm / 6″ with Auto Macro

Amy Heffernan November 30, 2015 - 3:36 am

I like the Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus!! Thanks!

SueSueper November 30, 2015 - 3:14 am

I like that the LCD screen flips up 175 degrees. This helps when taking selfies, or when there is too much sun to see the screen if it was fixed.

lori butler November 30, 2015 - 2:55 am

I like that it is wireless. yay

Seham Merzib November 30, 2015 - 2:44 am

The tilting LCD screen

Treen Goodwin November 30, 2015 - 2:15 am

I love the 175° Tilting LCD screen & Intelligent Auto Focus , sounds like an amazing camera , thanks for the chance 🙂 woohoo

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More